Books · review

Review: Graveling by Kristin Cashore

  • Publisher: Harcourt
  • Release date: October 1st 2008
  • Pages: 471
  • Edition: Paperback

Summary

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight – she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.

She never expects to become Po’s friend.

She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace – or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…

My rating

✮✮✮✮/5

My thoughts

Starting this book, I knew that a lot of people really liked it, so I went into it with high hopes. It started out really good and what I really loved was the world and the characters.

The world in this book is high fantasy and as some of you may know, I love that. I found it to be very unique and the whole ‘magic’ system (the different abilities of the graced) was just very captivating and fantastic.

I really loved the main character Katsa. She’s very indipendent and doesn’t change her mindset, even when it comes to marrying and that I think made her very strong. Her charcter really developed throughout the book and I always love when authors are able to make their characters change, but still write about the same person.

The relationship was nice. Honestly, it wasn’t really that special, but I did love the ending and how they’re connection grew very very much.

And I also liked the mystery of it: about the King of Monsea, Bitterblue, Katsa’s grace and Po. And I loved how it all resolved.

My only problem was the writing, although that changed the further I got into the book.
At the beginning I found it to be a bit ‘old’, but i get that it obviously was intendet to fit the whole fantasy world.
Some parts of the book where a little one-sided, for example as Po and Katsa rode through the forest because it was always riding and then their camp at night.
But all in all, I really liked this book and it seems like a great and also different fantasy read.

Let me know what your thoughts on this book are, if you’ve read it. And I wish you all good luck and a good day!🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Graveling by Kristin Cashore

  1. I loved Graceling, Katsa is so fierce and Po is a sweetheart 😀 This series just get better and better and I love that the books each get a new MC but keep the last main characters in the story line. I hope you enjoy Fire it was my favorite out of the 3 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

