Books · review

ARC Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

“Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.”

We all know know the Queen of Hearts, but never before did we know her story.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Beautifully tragic. Just like that I would describe this book. It made me laugh, cry, made my heart beat and it was something new – exactly what a good book should do.

As someone who loved every book  Marissa Meyer has written, I knew I was going to like this one as well. Going into this book, I thought I wouldn’t like the main character Cathrine (for obvious reasons – she’s the Queen of Hearts) and I never really sympathized with this character in Alice in Wonderland. But how wrong I was. I absolutely adored her and thought her to be a really authentic. Also the other characters, especially the ones that we already knew from Alice in Wonderland, were written really well. What I like about Marissa Meyer’s characters is that they may portray a character that already exists, but that doesn’t say that they are the same. Somehow she is able keep her story and the already existing one apart.

All in all the characters really felt real to me, or as real as it gets in wonderland. At first I was a bit skeptical if the world would live up to the one from Alice in Wonderland, but as I said, I felt like I knew the world, but it was still totally different.

You obviously know, as you go into this book, that some things won’t go as planned and characters will change and I think that makes the book even more interesting. You wait for the moment and you know it’ll come and when it is there you won’t expect it.

I think this book has one of the best endings ever written. We all know what’s going to happen, even if we haven’t read the book. But Marissa Meyer was able to made me love this villain and her story. It’s fair to say that I devoured the last 100 pages of this book. Because as I said, this book is beautifully tragic and totally lived up to my expectations.

I think Marissa Meyer did a great job at bringing us closer to the villain and maybe even changed our view on her (even if is was just for this one book). Fans of Marissa Meyer’s writing will definitely enjoy this story and its characters. The reason I couldn’t give this book 5 stars is because it was a bit slow at some parts, but still, I think this was the perfect story for the Queen of Hearts and I think a lot of people will agree as soon as they read it. This story was just as magical as Alice in Wonderland, but in its own way and it left me wanting more Wonderland.

 

Leave a Reply

